All These Countries Have Been Banned By FIFA Over Third-Party Influence


Recently, FIFA, the governing body for world football, suspended the All India Football Federation (AIFF) for “undue interference by a third party”, a first since the federation was formed in 1937.


Iraq (2008)

FIFA suspended Iraq over government interference in the domestic operations of the game by dissolving the national Olympic committee and all sports federations. The ban was lifted in July 2010.

Nigeria (2014)

The executive committee and a Nigerian court summoned a civil servant to run the Federation after a poor performance by the team at the 2014 FIFA World Cup. After this, FIFA immediately suspended the NFF on July 9, 2014. The federation was eventually reinstated and the ban was lifted within 10 days.

Kuwait (2015)

Kuwait got banned thrice in 2007, 2008 and 2015 due t various reasons. The ban got lifted on December 2017.

Indonesia (2015)

FIFA imposed a ban on 2015 after the Indonesian government abolished the Football Association 2015 and replaced it with its own committee.

Guatemala (2016)

FIFA banned Guatemala in October 2016 after the Directors of the Football Federation declined to recognize the committee saying it is against the country’s laws. The ban was lifted in 2018.

Benin (2016)

Benin was banned after the intervention of a judicial body in the country blocked upcoming elections of the Federation. The FIFA ban was lifted after one month.

Pakistan (2017 and 2021)

FIFA banned the Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) on two occasions. In October 2017, FIFA suspended the PFF for "undue third-party interference", which was lifted the next year. But the election that followed was not recognized by FIFA.